1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Oct. 26, 2023 - 12:08

Surely the ground won't freeze, I thought - it hadn't even frosted yet! So I left all my dahlias, and the tuberous begonias, and the scented geranium, and that red thing the hummingbirds are supposed to like - all the plants that will winter in my garage, dormant, and then reemerge next spring - I left them all where they were. They were still growing - it hadn't even frosted yet.

Well. The ground may or may not freeze - actually it probably will this weekend - but many of these plants were in pots, and pots freeze through very quickly. So I was out there just now for an hour trying to dig up some goddamn dahlia tubers out of their stupid pots - cut off their frozen tops, break through the frozen crust of soil, try to lever their stupid giant tubers out - they grow so much every year. My one Ferncliff Illusion was a tree! The Grande Tampicos are probably toast. The Tyler Jameses, the purple speckled guys, and the tall red ones that haven't bloomed again for a second year in a row are all still in the ground. Surely it won't freeze before I can get to them - maybe this afternoon, maybe tomorrow.

My new fireplace blower is a dream, except that I discovered this morning before turning it on that one of the rubber feet hadn't made the journey into its new position, so I reattached it, hoping that would take care of the rattle - and it kind of did, but now I think it's rattling against the back wall, so I'll need to move it out a hair. The current rattle is barely a rattle, though, and totally livable. Why did I put up with that awful old blower for so long?

It's supposed to warm up next week into the 40s or 50s and that'll seem warm. Right now, though, this is okay.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Nov. 26, 2023
- - Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2023
- - Monday, Nov. 06, 2023
- - Sunday, Nov. 05, 2023
- - Wednesday, Nov. 01, 2023