1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Oct. 25, 2023 - 21:51

It's winter now - it came early this morning. I knew it was coming but was surprised nevertheless when I opened my curtains this morning. White.

Two days ago I was wearing shorts. I took Friday afternoon off because it was so nice - my dog and I went for a hike in the hills and it was too hot for him. Just last night my garden was still alive.

So it's back to this, snow and ice. There are things I'd forgotten about - running shoes don't make good winter shoes, watering cans filled with water are frozen solid, I used up my rock salt last winter (not that I want to use much, but it's good to have some around on occasion).

Overall it was a good growing season but it's sad to see it end. I have five vases of dahlias in my kitchen.

But there are things about the coming season that I appreciate and am excited about.

My fireplace blower arrived today! I decided to install it myself. I took the old one out, put the new one in, no problem at all - but it didn't turn on. I did some advanced problem solving and decided that the outlet I used on the junction box was one that needed a thingy, which this blower doesn't have - or it does have it but it's different from the last one - so I plugged it into the other outlet. It didn't turn on. I should have just paid the extra $300 to have someone else mess with this! I turned off the fireplace, left for a run, came back, turned the fireplace back on, got in the shower, and when I got out, the blower was on! It's rattly and I'll have to fix that, but yikes, the actual blower makes nearly no noise at all. So quiet. I'll list the old one on craigslist for free so someone can come take it for their shop.

I ordered new wheels for my car. I ordered a TV mount. I've had my compost pickup bin completely filled up every week - there's no way I could have dealt with all of this on my own. I haven't called the garage door place yet, but I could do that any second now. I know what kind of rug I want for the living room. I also know what kind of artwork I'm going to hang up in the living room. Things are progressing. Hopefully my house doesn't fall down before I can finally get my living room done.

"Self-care" update: I got a massage on Friday, I'm getting my hair cut this Friday, and I'll make an appointment to get highlights soon. I may extend this month of "focusing" on "self-care" to November. Plans: another massage, a visit to the deprivation chamber/float tanks, and buying Christmas presents for myself.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2023
- - Monday, Nov. 06, 2023
- - Sunday, Nov. 05, 2023
- - Wednesday, Nov. 01, 2023
- - Thursday, Oct. 26, 2023