1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Oct. 16, 2022 - 20:35

It's been a ridiculously enjoyable fall - warm, sunny, dry, no frost yet. It's bad, actually, but so enjoyable. But a change is coming next weekend, going from 70s and sunny to 40s and rainy. And below freezing at night. So I'm moving all my succulents inside for the winter, trimming them down because they're such monsters - ended up with a pile of succulent cuttings. Dug up the angel wing begonias that spent the summer outside, too. Put everything out at the end of the driveway with free signs, posted it online, and am watching the pile get smaller and smaller.

Will be digging up the dahlias soon too.

So many plans for next summer.

I finally painted the inside of my front door and both sides of the door to the garage. They'd been painted horribly, like someone had started painting them, outlined them with a brush, and then stopped. All the paint for the house is in the garage, which is super useful, so I was able to just use that and finish painting them - a brush for the curvy stuff and a roller for the flat parts. They look much better.

Got the roof fixed - they'd used 1-inch screws, some of them not even roofing screws, so the poor guy who came had to redo nearly 500 screws. Thankfully. He'd just come to do a small section that had bent but ended up working for hours redoing the whole roof. I gave him a ton of tomatoes, along with a check.

Also got the kitchen lights re-fixed. They needed new sockets.

So I'm feeling a little better about my capabilities as a homeowner right now. Maybe the house won't fall down due to my inability to deal with life!

Also feeling better about myself physically. Not quite back into pre-covid shape, but things are headed in the right direction, and, barring any calamities, I'm pretty sure I'll be able to do the 50 miler next year. Just need to keep my feet and toes happy.

Hate work, though. Talking to a recruiter tomorrow.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Wednesday, Nov. 16, 2022
- - Monday, Nov. 14, 2022
- - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2022
- - Friday, Oct. 28, 2022
- - Monday, Oct. 17, 2022