1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Apr. 17, 2022 - 20:38

I've gotten pretty sick. Two covid tests have been negative so far but this morning I thought I couldn't smell anymore. But I think I can smell, it's just diminished by volumes of snot. We'll see. My main complaint is a very sore throat. I took most of Thursday and Friday off of work and here I am still sick after a weekend of being sick. I'll take another covid test in a day or two. I don't necessarily think it's covid, but I don't necessarily think it's not. I'm trying to decide whether to go to the morning meeting tomorrow. I really don't want to and being sick is a good excuse.

I finally filed my taxes. I'd had them done and sitting in TurboTax for a couple months, but I wanted to look over the paper form before submitting and never got around to it. And TurboTax never lets me file my state return for free even though it says it will - it always tries to get me to pay $25. Tonight I finally decided to get things done so I entered everything into TaxAct. And guess what! TaxAct said I'd be getting significantly more money back from the state than TurboTax said. It took a while to figure out the difference, but it was that TurboTax wasn't correctly calculating my mortgage interest paid for my state return - I had two lenders and it only picked up the amount from one. Also, TurboTax was putting in the amount for Federal Income Tax paid when it should have been putting in the amount for Federal Income Tax withheld. I would never have known if I hadn't decided to use TaxAct this year.

And here's another outrageous thing - my Garmin is shorting my step count every day. I finally found my Fitbit charger so I got the old Fitbit charged up and I'm wearing them both right now, just to compare, and the Fitbit is giving me at least 1000 more steps a day. One could posit that the Fitbit is inflating the step count, but it turns out that isn't the case - the other morning a few minutes after I got out of bed, my Garmin said I was at 0 steps for the day, even though I was up and moving around, and I'd also gotten up in the middle of the night to get more Nyquil. But the Garmin chose to ignore all of that! Outrageous!

Being sick is no fun but at least it's horribly cold and wintery outside, so I'm not really missing much by staying inside all weekend.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, May. 02, 2022
- - Wednesday, Apr. 27, 2022
- - Monday, Apr. 25, 2022
- - Sunday, Apr. 24, 2022
- - Thursday, Apr. 21, 2022