1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Feb. 21, 2022 - 10:29

After a respite, a false spring - melting ice, sunshine and warm air, the ground emerging from its cover of snow - winter came back yesterday afternoon. My dog and I had popped out for a quick walk. He was nude and I was just in a hoodie, because it was warm and we would be quick. We got to the school across the street and saw a dog-friend and his person who we hadn't seen for a while, so we went over to catch up. While we stood there talking - a minute, maybe 30 seconds - the wind and the snow started a-blowin'. We walked in the park for a while and then my dog and I decided to turn around and high-tail it home, head-first into the wind, into the new blizzard. This morning I opened the door and my dog saw what was going on - howling winds, snow drifts blown up against the doorway - and he sat down, defeated. It's hard when you think spring is coming and your heart is set on that.

Today is a holiday and I'm taking tomorrow off and thank god for that because the weekend went by in the blink of an eye. I don't know how I'm going to get through this year.

The puppy and his roommate will be back in town in a few weeks. Not permanently, it seems, but it seems they'll be back in this state until the fall.

The constant text messages from my coworker have stopped. What a weird 36 hours that was. I'm sorry he's feeling insecure and whatever, but I'm not the solution to any of his problems. It would be different if we'd been close, you know, but we weren't - not at all. This all popped up completely out of the blue, this 36-hour obsession. (Edit: Jesus, never mind, as soon as I typed this he texted me again. Twice.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Wednesday, Mar. 16, 2022
- - Sunday, Mar. 13, 2022
- - Monday, Feb. 28, 2022
- - Sunday, Feb. 27, 2022
- - Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2022