1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Feb. 28, 2022 - 21:23

This morning someone posted a video of Russian soldiers murdering some people and their dogs. I didn't watch the video but I read a few of the comments, enough to find out what the video was about, and I've been devastated ever since. It was a cold, dark, rainy day here, and my dog was curled up in bed taking a nap in our warm house while I was working from my home office at a job that pays me more money than I know what to do with.

After work I bundled us up for a cold walk but it had warmed up and was nearly 50 degrees, and it wasn't raining anymore. We walked to the river, which had frozen over during the cold snap but is now thawing out in exciting and dramatic ways - ice floats coming downstream and crashing into sections where it's still frozen over, tumbling underneath the ice cover and continuing on their merry way underwater.

I made baked ziti for dinner. I've never made it before but needed "comfort food" even though I hate that term. Baked ziti is lasagna but without all the rules.

I don't know, I'd decided that being tapped into all the immediate bad news that you can get online is not a good thing - but there's a war going on and nothing is business as usual. Things like that video being seen by people on the other side of the world - I mean, imagine if WWII had happened with our immediate social media. Would things have been different? If footage from the first concentration camps had come out in 1934 or 1935, would the world have stepped in sooner? I'd like to believe so, and I do think that it's important for things like that video today to get out and be seen by people. Just not by me, I guess, because it's too terrible and I can't deal.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Wednesday, Mar. 30, 2022
- - Monday, Mar. 28, 2022
- - Sunday, Mar. 27, 2022
- - Wednesday, Mar. 16, 2022
- - Sunday, Mar. 13, 2022