1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Mar. 27, 2022 - 21:30

Yesterday I put these dots on my windows, bird strike deterrents. Did I tell you about the pigeon that hit my bedroom window this winter? The imprint it left was hilarious/horrific - full outline of this bird, the side of its face, one of its eyes, its mouth open in surprise. I was sure there would be a big dead pigeon-body outside but fortunately there wasn't. Last summer, some poor bastard left blood on my office window - but again, no poor dead bird-body on the ground. I've never lived in a new house and these modern windows are so reflective - tantalizing portals into a beautiful alternate world - so I've been surprised by how often I hear a bird hit a window. I've only found one that died, a beautiful little guy, and I felt horrible. Hopefully these dots will stop them from hitting my windows.

I cleaned my house this weekend because I had people over. It doesn't matter if my house is clean, they wouldn't care, but I cared. So some friends came over today, and after they left I met other friends at a cider house and then they came over. My dog was SUPER PUMPED to have so many guests in one day. And now we have a clean house!

On Friday night I met some friends from work at a new bar downtown. Also, it's suddenly warm enough to be outside in a t-shirt.

So - good weekend overall (other than exercise-wise - ugh, let me tell you about that sometime) - it made me feel almost normal again, like a person capable of enjoying things again.

My supervisor last week asked me how I'd feel if they took me off this project and - I didn't say this, but - my god, that would be such a relief. We're getting raises again and I suspect I'll get another healthy one but I don't need more money, they'd just be paying me off for sacrificing my happiness and health.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Apr. 17, 2022
- - Monday, Apr. 11, 2022
- - Thursday, Mar. 31, 2022
- - Wednesday, Mar. 30, 2022
- - Monday, Mar. 28, 2022