1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Mar. 16, 2022 - 20:07

This week is like what life was like back in the before-times and I'm not sure how I used to do all this. It's Wednesday and I've had things to do every night this week. I've been in rooms with people again, just like we always used to do without even thinking about it, and it's so weird.

Last night I was at a bar downtown that opened right when everything shut down two years ago. I'd never been there because I haven't been anywhere since then.

The night before I went out to a coworker's house to walk her old dog. He only wanted to go a little ways - my dog was full of unbridled enthusiasm and was disappointed that the walk was so short, so afterwards I took him out to a place that isn't new anymore but I'd never been to, a new path along the river.

Last night I slept better than I've slept in months and I think it was because I've been doing things and my brain had something to think about other than the stuff I'm stressed out about at work. I was sound asleep when my alarm went off this morning and that hasn't happened in like five months.

Today I went to the gym at lunch and then went to my running class after work. And I took my dog out for a couple little runs in between - when I go out and do stuff it means shorter walks for him.

So tonight when we were going out, at the end of the alley, some people were walking down the street, and the guy said, "You're Kelsi, hi!" and I had no idea who the crap this guy was. Even after he said his name. But it turns out he was in the class I taught last summer. And still I have no idea how the crap he recognized me - in general I always think I'm invisible and it's surprising when it turns out that I'm not, but also - he'd only ever seen my head through a computer screen months ago and somehow was able to recognize my corporeal being tonight. Man, life and everything is so weird these days.

Tomorrow night I don't have anything to do, other than watch some basketball I hope.

OH WHICH brings me back to that point about how unequal the NCAA treats men's basketball vs. women's basketball. People say they don't like women's basketball but that's because they don't watch it, and they don't watch it because it's nearly impossible to even be able to watch it. The men's tournament is being broadcast on all these networks and the women's tournament is only being broadcast on ESPN492-wu. Also the NCAA sponsors the NCAA tournament for both men and women, and they also sponsor the NIT for the men but NOT the WNIT for the women?! Etc. It makes me mad every year.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Apr. 11, 2022
- - Thursday, Mar. 31, 2022
- - Wednesday, Mar. 30, 2022
- - Monday, Mar. 28, 2022
- - Sunday, Mar. 27, 2022