1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Aug. 23, 2020 - 09:53

It's still hot - it's supposed to get up to 93 today - it's still summery - I haven't gotten my first ripe tomato yet - but you can tell by the angle of the sun, by the way the light is, that fall is coming. It's fine, it's fine, but I can't stand the thought of short days, of darkness before work and darkness after work. Even that is fine, I'm fine with it when it's happening, but I can't stand the thought of it.

But fall is the time to be getting your shit taken care of, and you can start feeling that in August. Yesterday I decided to start packing. I haven't contacted my realtor yet and I haven't contact any mortgage people yet but it needs to happen. I'm packing and sorting through my stuff and getting rid of things - vases that I never use and cookbooks that are pretty but that I've looked at twice in the last 20 years and CDs I've always hated but have held on to because why not.

I've enjoyed putting books into the little free library boxes around here and then checking on them. They've all been taken. Today I'll take more books - that big pretty but useless cookbook, a big pretty but useless book about container gardening (it's really just pictures of nice flower baskets), a big pretty but useless book about human health. And maybe I'll take some CDs as well? I haven't tried that yet but I don't see why it's not a good idea.

Anyway, weekends are the best.

They just redid this bridge here and the last thing they did was put down a chip seal, and it's the best chip sealing job I've ever seen - like a fine berber carpet, like they laid each pebble individually, lovingly, by hand. I don't know if there's any kind of chip seal appreciation society, or a hall of fame for chip seals, but this belongs there. Do people travel to places to look at chip seals, the way they do with baseball stadiums? If they do, surely this is on their list of chip seals to see.

Yes, weekends are the best. I would have posted an entry on Friday night saying the same but I was too busy enjoying Friday night to post. By that I mean that I got some ice cream and made my dog get up on the couch with me and we watched netflix.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Sept. 06, 2020
- - Tuesday, Sept. 01, 2020
- - Thursday, Aug. 27, 2020
- - Tuesday, Aug. 25, 2020
- - Monday, Aug. 24, 2020