1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Sept. 06, 2020 - 10:00

Slept the best last night, albeit after taking an Advil PM. If you have an American Express card you can get a free year of Calm Premium, and I finally signed up after a friend said that it was really good - they have stories to listen to while you fall asleep, and I've been listening to audiobooks for a few years to do just that - and the book I have checked out right now is upsetting, a suicide and a stabbing murder in just the first chapter, so I can't listen to it. So I finally signed up for Calm and Friday night I opened up the app and picked out a story and was looking forward to falling asleep right away but the story was too interesting - a cruise down the Nile! We started out at the pyramids and had just gotten to the Valley of the Kings and it was only getting more exciting! I had to turn it off and find a different story, but again that was too interesting - a trip on the Orient Express!

In general right now I'm not sleeping well, I'm stressed out and everything is weird.

My project didn't meet its deadline on Friday so we had to work this weekend. I'm still an idiot and don't really know what's going on - that's stressful. I help with what I can but there's so much over my head - integrations, transformations, deployments, things I understand in theory but don't know the reality of. And I still feel like an ass for not working last weekend, even though it didn't matter. Also we're getting to the end of the quarter and I haven't met my quarterly goals yet, have to take a certification test that I am completely unprepared for and then have to write reviews for my team again - so that's going to be stressful.

I'm feeling weird about buying a house but better than last year, but still weird and insecure.

I usually go to my hometown in September but probably won't this year, and I miss my dad.

But last night on the Calm app I listened to a story about Ciudad Perdida, the lost city in Colombia, and it was super interesting again but I fell asleep partway through. I woke up once or twice and restarted it and again found it super interesting but I'm not sure what happens in it because I kept falling asleep. (I mean, nothing happens in these stories, they just describe things, but if you're on a cruise or a train ride you go to different places that they describe and those places can be way too interesting.)

(In the Valley of the Kings you got to go inside the tombs! The you go to Thebes! I should listen to it again in daylight, geez.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Friday, Sept. 18, 2020
- - Wednesday, Sept. 16, 2020
- - Sunday, Sept. 13, 2020
- - Thursday, Sept. 10, 2020
- - Monday, Sept. 07, 2020