1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Mar. 23, 2020 - 22:12

And now here is the update you've been waiting almost seven years for: Yes, I do still have that bottle of Mor Emporium Hand Cream in Snow Gardenia, it does smell good, I do actually use it although I suppose there were a few years in there when I wasn't using it much, which was silly. It's nice.

The weekend was beautiful, I was wearing shorts yesterday and sitting in the sun, my dog didn't wear a jacket all weekend. Our lawn was brown hay. Those goddamn winds the last few weeks have dried everything out, and we didn't have much snow to begin with. Everything was dry and brown. And then this afternoon it rained! It was our first spring rain and it smelled so good. My dog and I went for a walk afterwards and it was incredible. Hardly anyone was out except us and the sun.

I've been taking my temperature for the last week. It's usually 98.0. Imagine my surprise, then, when it was 98.55 last Tuesday. Elevated! And then the next time I took it - 98.8! And then 99.4! A fever! Nevermind that technically a "fever" is 100.4. Since my temperature is usually 98.0, 99.4 on me is actually equivalent to 100! One HUNDRED degrees! And what was that, a cough? Was I coughing anything up or just coughing to cough? Who could tell? And my nose was dripping! I tried to tell myself that the elevated temperature was because of that tingling in my toe from when I had stubbed it and broken my toenail and then gotten garden dirt in it - just a little infection starting that my body had to combat, right? Ha ha, I'm sure that's all it was, a toe infection! Right? I started putting antibiotic ointment on my broken toenail because if it got infected they wouldn't give a rat's ass right now, they'd just tell me to cut off the toe myself, and who can spare that? But let's face reality here, it probably wasn't the toe at all, it was coronavirus! And I hadn't worried about myself because it only kills older people - or so they told us, but it turns out that's NOT TRUE! I felt tired out, my eyes burned, I needed to take a shower, I needed to drink some water, I was gross. I turned down invitations to meet on trails and maintain polite distances. I imagined what I would do - sequester myself until the symptoms got so bad I'd be forced to go to the hospital? I took my temperature again on Sunday morning and it was 98.6. I took it this afternoon and it was 98.6.

I'm going to bed.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Tuesday, Apr. 21, 2020
- - Wednesday, Apr. 15, 2020
- - Monday, Apr. 13, 2020
- - Sunday, Apr. 12, 2020
- - Monday, Mar. 30, 2020