1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Oct. 06, 2023 - 16:25

I am currently sitting on my patio IN THE SUN with two laptops on my lap. This is very fitting for my month of "self-care". Yes one laptop is for work but look at me typing in my secret online diary instead!

In the last few days I: made a massage appointment (I should have done it two weeks ago but I wasn't "focusing" on "self-care" then), filled up my 32-gallon compost bin with 32 gallons of compostables, sent a message to my doctor requesting new birth control pills (I just did it two minutes ago, finally), made a strawberry pie and fresh whooping cream. The whooping cream (I'm joking, I know it's whipped) is so deluxe and perfect - a tiny amount of sugar, a couple drops of vanilla - I'm so excited for the holiday season so that I can make this very lightly sweetened whooping cream and make everyone eat it instead of the canned stuff - it'll knock their socks off. The canned stuff is good too but this stuff is amazing.

No one has asked but I'm sure you're all wondering why getting compostables hauled away is "self-care" and the answer is that I live in a prison of my own making, insisting on throwing away the least amount of compostable material possible (it releases methane when it breaks down in a landfill!) which means I compost a LOT of stuff, which means my compost bin and pile are constantly overfilled and overflowing, even in the summer. In the winter it's worse. And I worry about it and spend too much time on it and it's a stupid mess, so now every week 32 gallons of compostables will be taken away by a truck and I don't have to worry anymore! I'll still have my own compost bin and pile, but they won't be overflowing. Easy living.

I quite possibly did other very nice things for myself this week but I can't remember them. My dog went to the vet today for follow-up bloodwork and he gets to continue taking his anti-inflammatory, which he will be VERY happy about because he feels VERY GOOD on these pills.

I've nearly decided to install the fireplace blower myself - I'll do a test run by taking the current one out myself and then putting it back in, and if that's too much of a pain I'll just pay to have it done. It's a $300 difference. $300 could buy me like 100 Skor bars.

It's been very cold and dark and rainy for a while, but today is sunny and warm and the weekend is going to be sunny and warm. I'm hoping to finish refinishing that bookshelf that's been in my garage since last fall, and I'm hoping to sit around in the sun and read. I'll also watch a football game with my dad (remotely, texting each other), and I'll watch the first WNBA final game on Sunday. It will be a glorious weekend.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Nov. 05, 2023
- - Wednesday, Nov. 01, 2023
- - Thursday, Oct. 26, 2023
- - Wednesday, Oct. 25, 2023
- - Tuesday, Oct. 17, 2023