1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jul. 23, 2023 - 10:34

Right now, Claire Bannwarth is in the overall lead in the Tahoe 200, one week after coming in fifth woman at the Hardrock 100. Earlier in the race she was in the lead, then went off course for 3 hours and was in fourth place by the time she got back on course, but she has since regained the lead. She traveled from Colorado by train and bus. She has a full-time job. Holy shit, she is impressive. Some company needs to sponsor her, holy crap.

News of the day around here is that it's fire weather. It's hot and dry and it's been windy. There was lightning last Monday that started some fires around here. It's going to be over 100 degrees today and tomorrow. It reached 100 degrees on Friday. Yesterday was only 97 or 98.

There's a vacant half-block in my neighborhood and there have been people living next to it in vans, campers, trailers. There's one white camper van that's been there for a year - through the super hot days last summer, through the freezing arctic days of the long cold winter, and now. On Friday at the gym we were doing 200 meter runs on the street next to them and the guy had his door open and I could see his red swollen legs. Edema, cellulitis. After the workout I went and talked to them - I'd packed two bottles of ice water for the gym and had only used one and offered it to them. They're a grandpa-granddaughter pair, very sweet, in line to get an apartment once the apartment is ready in two weeks. The granddaughter gave me her 30-second elevator pitch of all the things they've suffered. The grandpa gave me some lychee fruits. I went back last night with my dog and with a couple bags of ice and $25. I planted the seeds from the lychees and if they germinate I'll give one to them as a housewarming gift, if they do get into that apartment. It's really confounding that there are so many people living in their cars in my neighborhood. What has our society come to, really.

I've been thinking about this lately. I make an obscene amount of money now, more than I need - and it's not that much compared to what others make. Who needs this much money? Especially when there are people living in their cars? It's gross. Gross.

...

Hummingbird update: I opened my front door the other day and there was a hummingbird by the bee balm! So I moved my hummingbird feeder out there - I'd had it in the back corner by my neighbor's bush. This morning I was watering out front and a hummingbird swooped up and used the feeder! I'd never even seen a hummingbird around here - we had them at my old place, three blocks away from here, but I'd never seen one here. So I'm glad to have seen one here finally and glad it's discovered the feeder.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2023
- - Monday, Aug. 14, 2023
- - Thursday, Aug. 10, 2023
- - Saturday, Aug. 05, 2023
- - Thursday, Aug. 03, 2023