1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2023 - 11:45

I've been incredibly upset about the burning of Lahaina, waking up in the early morning hours with it in my head. The dogs, the senior living facility, people dying in their cars, a small town. Surely it can't have been that bad, I think - and then in those early morning hours I think, surely it's even worse.

Our own fire weather has returned and the fire north of town flared up. I took a picture of the smoke from the Costco parking lot - just there, right over those hills. It's the second of three days in a row with temperatures over 100. It's going to cool down after this but a cold front means wind. This morning it was dark orange outside.

I donated $50 to a horse sanctuary. The price of hay.

The people who were living in the van a block away aren't there anymore. I'm hoping that means they're in their new apartment now. I have no closure about it and I feel a sense of loss. Which is nuts. They were there for a year and now they're gone.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Sept. 17, 2023
- - Sunday, Sept. 10, 2023
- - Wednesday, Sept. 06, 2023
- - Wednesday, Aug. 30, 2023
- - Friday, Aug. 25, 2023