1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jul. 09, 2023 - 18:05

Typed up an entry about the half marathon but decided it was too self-indulgent so I deleted it. Summary: Saw a fox on my way to the buses, ran the second half of the race with a friend and it went better than expected.

Imagined typing an entry about ultras but again decided it was too self-indulgent so I never typed it. Summary: The entry would have been written to me, telling me that I can't keep myself from deciding to do another 50 but I hope I will remember how much effort it takes during those last 10 miles (which could possibly be alleviated if I'd do more running during my training).

I feel like there's nothing the world needs less than easier access to each other's opinions. But we don't let that stop us, do we?

I thought about typing an entry about the 4th of July parade in my hometown but got too lazy to do it so, again, I never typed it. Summary: Douchebro families next to us were heckling non-conservative floats after doing approximately 5 total minutes of self-reflection in their entitled lives (judgemental and self-satisfied speculation on my part, but I think they earned it).

Oh well. Here's a paragraph about the Badwater 135: Last year the top woman set a new women's record and immediately people were suspicious, and a website devoted to exposing race cheaters (there are people who cheat in races, it's very weird) posted an article that was like "I'm not saying she cheated but many people are wondering about this, many people think it's suspicious." Years earlier this woman had gotten a 6-month triathlon suspension for testing positive for some banned substance that she supposedly had ingested in a supplement (and supposedly lots of supplements contain these things without saying so) and a couple years ago she went off course in a half marathon and immediately reported it and didn't try to pretend that she hadn't. People were like, if she'd just post her GPS data from Badwater it would clear it up. She posted her GPS data. She hadn't cheated. But still, she has giant pink hair and wears little crop tops and is always smiling and her name is Ashley and she has four kids and a supportive goddamn husband and she's the kind of person that you just want to root against. I think a week or so after Badwater last year she won a marathon wearing some shirt in tribute to her dad. The goddamn bitch. So this year she entered Badwater at the last minute. Would she defend her title? Would this silence her critics? What would happen? Well, she went out and won the damn thing outright. Second fastest time ever. Go ahead and root against her if you want to but nah, I'm a fan now.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Thursday, Aug. 10, 2023
- - Saturday, Aug. 05, 2023
- - Thursday, Aug. 03, 2023
- - Sunday, Jul. 23, 2023
- - Friday, Jul. 14, 2023