1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Jun. 30, 2023 - 16:19

Petunia update - I planted hundreds of petunia seeds and I have hundreds of petunias now. I should have known what was going to happen, but I didn't. Apparently none of the seeds were descendants of the Night Sky descendants from last year, which is disappointing - this year they're all purples or pinks. (Last year they were a cool and unexpected blotchy mix of white, purple, and Night Sky - it was the coolest.) There is one this year that's light pink with a white center, which is cool and whose provenance is unknown. There's some dumb faded pink ones, which I should pull out. There's some nice pinky purple ones with dark centers. And then some purple-purple ones, which I do not trust at all. (Was it last year? I had those terrible purple-purple ones that spent the entire summer looking like they were dying.) I'll have to buy a Night Sky this year in order to get the seeds, I suppose.

Bee update - I've finally seen a few bees in my yard. I think maybe someone in this neighborhood uses pesticides - or maybe the previous owner of this house did. I've had clover blooming in my yard for a while but never saw any bees until last week. Other people around town had seen bees - I asked - but there weren't any around here.

Hummingbird update - I've got a hummingbird feeder for the first time this year and I've been filling it up but have never seen any hummingbirds. This is a weird neighborhood - only three blocks from my last apartment which was basically located in the Garden of Eden, but up a hill, closer to the tracks, different weeds, no crickets, no hummingbirds. No bees. Just very weird.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Aug. 05, 2023
- - Thursday, Aug. 03, 2023
- - Sunday, Jul. 23, 2023
- - Friday, Jul. 14, 2023
- - Sunday, Jul. 09, 2023