1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, May. 23, 2023 - 22:21

Completed my sixth 6-miler today. Running six miles is so much better than running 18! The weather cooled off enough for my dog to come along on my two evening runs, and even though he's a terrible dawdler I was very glad to have him along - he's my favorite person and I like hanging out with him.

This weekend I'd still like to pull off at least one very long run, but my gumption is nonexistent and I can come up with plenty of excuses for not doing one. Ideally I'd do two long runs but that's an even bigger stretch.

Good: I am strong and my feet have been feeling good.
Bad: I don't have the mental fortitude to run 18 miles let alone 50.
Good: Mileage-wise, I'm probably right about where I have been the last two times I've done this race.
Bad: I think I thought I should have run more the last two times I've done this race.
Good: I've done this before and I'm going to get through it fine, I know this.
Bad: Because I know that it'll be fine and I'll get through it, I've convinced myself that I don't really need to train anymore.
Etc.

I am pretty sleepy - I did doubles on Sunday and Monday, and oh! My fricken period started on Monday - or actually kind of on Sunday night when my dog and I went out for our run. It was generally okay but a little uncomfortable running last night and this morning. I was hoping my period wouldn't start until today but it decided to be all perimenopausal and start a day early. I'll start taking the birth control pills again next Sunday. Unfortunately I didn't become any less fluffy during this last month being pillless. In fact, I've discovered to my horror that my boobs are absolute GIANTS. I have cleavage without even trying! When did this happen? I'm sure it's because of the goddamn pandemic and taking "two weeks" off from the gym. So anyway, I'm tired and am going to bed.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Jun. 25, 2023
- - Monday, Jun. 19, 2023
- - Tuesday, Jun. 13, 2023
- - Sunday, Jun. 11, 2023
- - Wednesday, Jun. 07, 2023