1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Jun. 19, 2023 - 21:00

Darn, I should have written something Saturday night or Sunday morning while I was still feeling the pain of the effort it took to finish that stinking race. Instead, now I'm just a little sleepy and my memory has hazed over a bit - I remember that it was a beautiful day, slightly rainy at first, then foggy and cloudy, then sunny, then cloudy again. I remember that I ran with some really weird and interesting people. I remember that the volunteers were amazing and fantastic. I remember when my phone finally loaded David Lee Roth's Yankee Rose and I was filled with elation and was able to run fast and normal like a person who hadn't just run 48 miles. I was listening to Cry Tough by Poison as I ran into the finish. Sure sure I talked with another runner about never doing another one and we confirmed that decision after we were done - but, hmm, it wasn't THAT awful, was it? I mean I remember thinking it was awful but now I don't actually remember that awfulness. So - see, I should have written something closer to the race so that I would remember not to ever do another one of these stupid races.

I didn't get my goal time but I also didn't fall, barf, or poop my pants. It was actually my most successful 50 from a gastrointestinal standpoint. Also my best race nutritionally. Also probably just physically overall, other than my feet, which were hurting really bad. But it was pretty good.

My house was so clean when I got home! I wish it was like this forever.

I'm super tired, I just need to go to bed.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Jul. 23, 2023
- - Friday, Jul. 14, 2023
- - Sunday, Jul. 09, 2023
- - Friday, Jun. 30, 2023
- - Sunday, Jun. 25, 2023