1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Jun. 07, 2021 - 20:15

I shredded a couple potatoes for hash browns this weekend. A month or two ago I read that the secret to non-gooey hash browns is to rinse them and then dry them really well. So I did that - I rinsed them, then dried them really well. Then I put them in a baggie and put them in the freezer. I got them out the next day and found that I had not dried them well at all - they were frozen into a hard impenetrable ball. I chopped off enough to make for breakfast that day, then put the baggie with the rest of them into the fridge, where they would thaw out and I would then dry them out better. They turned salmonella pink, so I decided I would not dry them out better and would instead throw them out. I am an adult and can do whatever I want, so I decided to leave them in the fridge until I was ready to throw them out. They turned dark purple. They turned black. This all happened in one day. Tonight is garbage night so I am now ready to throw things out. I discovered that the baggie was leaking black liquid. Then I discovered that the refrigerator glass is attached to the shelves - you can't take that shit off! They're glued on! You can take the glass out of the other shelves - for example the shelves down below that the black liquid also dripped all over - but not the one that was the main scene of the crime. Right now that entire shelf is in my bathtub basting in warm water and Oxiclean. I'm hoping the Oxiclean will be able to seep into the space where the goddamn glass is glued to the shelf, the same way the black potato juice was able to seep in there.

So, that's basically what I've been doing these days.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Thursday, Jul. 01, 2021
- - Monday, Jun. 28, 2021
- - Friday, Jun. 25, 2021
- - Tuesday, Jun. 22, 2021
- - Friday, Jun. 11, 2021