1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Jun. 28, 2021 - 11:06

Alarm went off at 3:55. I'm never up in the early morning (unless it's technically late night). Jupiter and Saturn near the huge bright moon. The air still warm. I set off on my route, disturbing deer, running through the early-morning sprinklers, waving at the other early-morning folks. I wore my Run for Tony wristband and every time I started thinking about walking I looked at that. It's incredible what some inspiration will do for you. It got too hot during the last half hour but for a marathon during a heat wave, that's not bad. One of my BRFs came out on her bike and rode with me for the last 10 miles or so.

I knew there would still be about a mile to go when I got back to my house, so I got my dog and we ran around the neighborhood. He was very excited and was pulling me, which was welcomed at that point. Strava says my overall time was 5:15 and my moving time (after some stoplights, two bathroom breaks, and a stop at some friends' house for snacks) was 4:45.

We lucked out and it only got into the lower 90s yesterday. Last night around 10:30 I went outside and felt that hot air coming in and here we are today, the start of the real heat. I've covered up my tomatoes so they'll have some shade. Their fruit won't set when it's this hot but hopefully the plants won't suffer too much - yesterday the top of one decided to get all wilty and if yesterday was too hot for it, dang dude, you're not going to have much fun this summer.

Now that my certification exam and this marathon are over, I think I'm going to shift my focus to getting some sleep - which will be hard if it's not cooling down overnight, but I'll give it a go and see how it goes.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Jul. 25, 2021
- - Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2021
- - Sunday, Jul. 18, 2021
- - Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2021
- - Thursday, Jul. 01, 2021