1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Jul. 06, 2020 - 17:47

I brought my laptop outside after work, ostensibly to sit in the shade and work on things but really so I can play Candy Crush Soda. It's hot. I fell victim to a surprise pop-up period today. I won't be digging out the rest of the new garden space tonight.

Don't tell anyone I'm playing Candy Crush Soda - it's a goddamn waste of time and it's my secret shame of this pandemic.

I went home over the long weekend and felt a little weird about it - it's probably fine but was that a sore throat I had this morning? Was my temperature 98.9 because it was hot and I was cleaning my apartment and packing up and sweating?

We didn't do anything. The town had a parade and big party at the beach and then fireworks - privately sponsored this year - but we stayed home. It turns out you can see much of the fireworks from my parents' house. We lit off our own fireworks and my dad almost blew his hand off lighting a firecracker.

My dad bought me an electric lawnmower last fall on sale because he thought I'd be buying a house. It's super nice - it looks like a car and it has headlights. But I don't own a house yet.

Garden: there are volunteer breadseed poppies in the garden and they're just starting to flower. One of the volunteer sunflowers has a flower on top - it's about six feet tall now. The other is a little ways behind and I wonder if/hope it's a different kind of sunflower. The peas are going good, I had to harvest the garlic because of all the rain we got (I didn't want it to all rot), the corn is about four feet high, the beans are starting, etc. I got some new strawberry plants from my mom to supplement my few surviving strawberries, and she also gave me a shitload of berries so I picked some rhubarb and will make some sort of strawberry-rhubarb thing.

I put my dog's cooling vest on him. He's more comfortable, I can tell, but he's not happy about wearing it.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Thursday, Jul. 23, 2020
- - Wednesday, Jul. 22, 2020
- - Saturday, Jul. 18, 2020
- - Tuesday, Jul. 14, 2020
- - Thursday, Jul. 09, 2020