1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Jul. 01, 2020 - 22:24

I take half-showers, I wash my hair in the morning and my body at night, or the other way around - it seems easier, less of a commitment, takes less time, I am a cat and I hate getting wet.

I listen to old-time radio on the alexa. "Alexa," I say, "play old-time radio!" She starts to play something about old-town something or other and I realize I talk funny. "Alexa, stop!" I say. "Alexa, play old-time radio," I say, trying to make sure I'm pronouncing the end of the diphthong front enough and high enough. Apparently I don't do that normally.

There's light in the sky at 11 p.m. We go for walks around that time, even though I always mean to be getting ready for bed around 10. My commute to work is 7 seconds long so I can sleep in so it's fine. Tomorrow I'll go to bed earlier.

I'm expanding the garden, a few more feet at the front. I need more room for the squashes. This will be - oh let's see, 70 more square feet, but even with all this extra room I am out of room. I need a place for the asparagus and the tomatoes and peppers. And the watermelon and muskmelon. The garden is so big when everything is small but not there just isn't enough space.

There's a house for sale two blocks from here. I want them to lower the asking price $15,000 and then I will offer $5,000 under that. I want no one else to know about this house and so far so good because it's not on Zillow - in fact the address doesn't even exist in Zillow. It has a fallout shelter in the basement and a grease pit in the garage.

There's a house across town that would also be perfect. Except everything's more expensive this year. My income increases, my savings increases, but just not enough for me to get ahead at all. I'm just keeping up except that I'm like $50,000 behind. If only all these houses were priced where they would have been priced two years ago.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Wednesday, Jul. 22, 2020
- - Saturday, Jul. 18, 2020
- - Tuesday, Jul. 14, 2020
- - Thursday, Jul. 09, 2020
- - Monday, Jul. 06, 2020