1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Jul. 18, 2020 - 11:22

It's a nice morning before a hot day and I'm sitting at the bistro table in the backyard thinking about making another cup of coffee. The air smells good. My garden expansion project is done. The plants are watered. It's my first 3-day weekend thanks to working summer hours.

I went to a couple project meetings yesterday morning and then turned off my work computer. I replaced one of the boards at the edge of the garden with a big plank, then decided I had no reason not to go for a big hike, so my dog and I went up into the hills. We went 6 miles. We didn't make it to a summit, just the saddle, but it was nice. It was overcast and even rained on us a couple times.

I've gone out to look for the comet the last couple nights - the first night I went to the edge of town to get away from the hills and trees in town, but there was a big cloud directly in the way. Last night my dog and I went for a long walk in our neighborhood and could have seen it, but the streetlights were too bright and I didn't see it. But came home and got out my telescope to look at Jupiter and four of its moons (and the bands on Jupiter) and at Saturn. Saturn is so pretty it can't be real.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Aug. 09, 2020
- - Wednesday, Jul. 29, 2020
- - Saturday, Jul. 25, 2020
- - Thursday, Jul. 23, 2020
- - Wednesday, Jul. 22, 2020