1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2020 - 14:00

I've been reading so much lately. I was going to donate my copy of Murder on the Orient Express but decided to read it again first. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and so I just started a Perry Mason book - The Case of the Dangerous Dowager - I have a bunch of old books like this, many Perry Masons. I got them for the interesting anthropological snippets, the glimpse into the way society used to be - they leave their keys in the car, Los Angeles was a small town, women worked because they were unmarried so they were either young and attractive and not married yet or they were old and ugly and unmarriable, women can't possibly be murderers because it goes against their nature, etc. - but I recently realized I am not interested in this shit. These books are crap, Perry Mason is ridiculous, the dialogue is awful, I can't stand the writing. Should I force myself through this or should I read another Agatha Christie book? Or switch back to short stories? Or read any of the other books I have lined up?

I rearranged my bedroom and am using a bookshelf for a headboard and I put all the books I need to read in that bookshelf, so it's easy for me to pick another book.

I've been stressed about work and have bitten off all my fingernails - I had to give quarterly reviews to my team for the first time - I thought I was done and was glad about that but one of them has some issues with the review so we're meeting next week with my supervisors. So I've got a few more days of nailbiting ahead of me.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Tuesday, Jul. 14, 2020
- - Thursday, Jul. 09, 2020
- - Monday, Jul. 06, 2020
- - Wednesday, Jul. 01, 2020
- - Monday, Jun. 29, 2020