1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jun. 14, 2020 - 13:51

Weekends are so great right now - I realize my introverty homebody tendencies aren't interesting but it's been nice. The neighbors bought an RV so they've been gone the last few weekends, the puppy and his roommate are gone for work Friday through Monday, the weather's been iffy at best, my dog and I stay home and do yard work or housework (or not) and just pass the time pleasantly.

I have been reading on the front porch, my dog has been chewing up antlers, the petunias are blooming and the flower boxes on the front windows look amazing.

I am growing corn - that and the volunteer sunflowers necessitated some sort of measuring device, so I spray-painted markers at 12" intervals on one of the bamboo sticks that I used to mark the edge of the corn. Apparently "knee high by the Fourth of July" could also refer to someone's knee while on horseback - we'll see how high we get in the next few weeks. Right now, the corn is mid-calf.

The asparagus seeds that I gathered last fall from the asparagus growing wild on the river island - I meant to spread them last fall, forgot about them, put them in the fridge for a week, planted them a month ago, nothing happened, I gave up - came up last Friday and I was so excited - one coming up from where I planted them in the ground, and eight from the leftovers that I threw in a pot - suddenly yesterday many more came up in the pot and a few more in the ground, so I've got more than 20 tiny asparaguses now. I don't know where to put them permanently but it's so exciting.

The peonies are blooming their heads off, including the one bush in the front corner garden that had been covered up by goutweed for years - I've never seen it bloom and it has the nicest dark dark pink flowers. The one by the dining room window is also going to bloom this year for the first time.

The pink poppies are in full glory right now - today - they have one day of glory and that's it. The orange ones are mostly done, and the white ones should be opening in a week or two.

I think most if not all of my dahlias survived. One of them is barely coming up but all the others are looking good.

The goddamn flea beetles - I may have already complained about them - are making lace of the potato leaves.

My plan to have the squashes go up the hill towards the alley might not work.

That's about it - from here, my privileged life.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Jun. 29, 2020
- - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2020
- - Monday, Jun. 22, 2020
- - Tuesday, Jun. 16, 2020
- - Monday, Jun. 15, 2020