1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Apr. 27, 2020 - 10:15

During the mindfulness practice this morning, we were supposed to visualize a moment when you felt safe, at ease, at peace. I thought of the moment last night sitting on the front porch in the sun, slight wind blowing, with my dog, with a cold beer in a frozen mug, reading a book, after a weekend spent in the sun getting things done in our beautiful yard that is suddenly bright green. I am lucky during this time of isolation to get to spend all my time with my dog, the puppy, and his roommate.

I replaced the knock sensor on my car on Saturday. It was a 5-minute job that turned into two and a half hours because: on Friday night I could have gone to the parts store to get a new sensor but I was so incredibly exhausted that I couldn't manage it. I decided to test the old sensor first to make sure it was bad, since the error code could potentially be triggered by something else. But as soon as I got the old one out, I realized I didn't need to test it - it was cracked in multiple places and clearly beyond bad. So I got on my bike to do the 15-minute ride to O'Reillys, and I ran into a coworker and her dog on the trail. Talked to her for half an hour (and was relieved to get that socializing out of the way because she was wanting to go on a dog walk over the weekend which would have turned into a two-hour thing and I didn't want to do that). Got to the store. Took the guy 10 minutes to find the part. $37.99, which is way cheaper than the OEM part. On my way back I ran into an old coworker and talked to her for half an hour, and that was unexpected but nice. Anyway, I got the new one installed quickly and everything's perfect again.

I planted corn for the first time. I didn't get the potatoes planted because I hadn't cut the seed potato yet so I'll have to wait a couple more days to do that. My onions are starting to come up, and the carrots, and the peas, and the other early spring things. I planted beans a few days ago and they'll probably start coming up in a couple days. I redid the fencing around the garden and put some fencing up along the border beds to keep the dogs out. I barely did anything inside. I got sunburned arms. And then yesterday afternoon I sat down on the front porch to do some reading. It was nice.

Now back to work. This is week 7? It's gone by so quickly.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, May. 17, 2020
- - Wednesday, May. 13, 2020
- - Monday, May. 11, 2020
- - Thursday, May. 07, 2020
- - Monday, May. 04, 2020