1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, May. 07, 2020 - 13:20

I'm brewing Earl Grey in milk in my milk frother with honey and vanilla, a homemade London Fog. This morning I remembered French toast - French toast - and added that to my daily cooked breakfast repertoire. I am out of sausages or breakfast patties for the moment, which has made breakfast so much less exciting. Food really is the main thing I look forward to these days, along with going to bed (which, unfortunately, I am again managing to put off ever later every night).

Yard plans: move the tall pale yellow tulips into more suitable locations, together - right now they are random and alone. Move the phlox that's spread out into the lawn into the bare spots of the phlox sections. Extend the one bed next to the house to the corner - long long ago the front porch of the house wasn't enclosed, and the bed that went up to the porch ended at the end of the house - now the enclosed porch is part of the house and there's a new porch, and no reason for the bed to end where it does - after eight years of living here I just realized this a couple weeks ago.

The beans are coming up, the peas are coming up, the onions are sprouting, the potatoes are not coming up but I trust they are doing their thing under the dirt, the things I planted but didn't write down (umm, beets, radishes, maybe turnips, maybe cabbage, maybe other things) are coming up (or are those just weeds?). Did I plant broccoli? I think I did, and I think I planted cauliflower as well. I suppose I'll find out.

I helped a friend move and came home with a yard bench. The puppy's roommate helped his sister move and came home with a bench and a porch swing and a bistro table with chairs. Not that there wasn't any place to sit before, but it's so incredibly enjoyable now to be able to sit all over the yard. I go out in the sunny evenings to read, and my dog likes to lounge in the sun next to me.

The air smells so good (when it's not full of wood smoke).

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, May. 25, 2020
- - Thursday, May. 21, 2020
- - Sunday, May. 17, 2020
- - Wednesday, May. 13, 2020
- - Monday, May. 11, 2020