1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, May. 25, 2020 - 14:49

Suddenly it's summer - a poppy opened up on Friday, there's a peony that'll be open in a few minutes, I wear shorts all day long. Later this week it might get close to 90 degrees.

There are two built-in dressers in my bedroom and when I moved in nine years ago I came to the conclusion that the space in between them was meant for a double bed and not a queen, so I put my bed on the west wall and put my desk in between the dressers. A few weeks ago I finally decided to measure that space and it turns out it fits a queen bed perfectly. So. That was dumb.

I've had a quiet weekend. I finished reading Summer by Edith Wharton and now I've started on a book of short stories that I was going to get rid of until I looked at the list of authors - O. Henry, Willa Cather, Ernest Hemingway. I took a few books to a Little Free Library that's up at the school - some detective books, Pu der Bär, an Ansel Adams postcard book. Since it's at an elementary school I suppose I should only put books there that are somewhat appropriate for kids. Summer by Edith Wharton probably isn't one that I'll put there.

So I'm going through things, rearranged my bedroom, tidied up my entryway, throwing things out that I should have thrown out long ago. I have too many shoes and now that I'm not going into the office at all my summer work sandals are just, basically, clutter. Next up: clean out my closet.

I dug a new flower bed by my stoop - angled the existing bed in towards the end of the steps so there's not that awkward square to mow anymore. I think I'll put some dahlias there, although I could put zucchini. I bought some petunias and have them in the window boxes out front, but now that the juniper is gone everything out front is going to get fried this summer.

Planted some zucchini seeds. Not sure if this is the bushing kind or the climbing kind - the packet doesn't say - a packet of seeds left over from the puppy's roommate's first roommate. The corn is a few inches high and is about ready to go into the ground in the center of the garden. The potatoes are coming up. The beans and peas are on their way. The strawberries are barely hanging onto life. I have some radishes to pick. I got the summer hose in place out by the garden.

I ate breakfast this morning outside in the nice yard at the new patio table. Might just have to do that all the time this summer.

Here's something that I'd never heard before but is so profound and obvious: everyone wants progress but no one wants change.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Tuesday, Jun. 16, 2020
- - Monday, Jun. 15, 2020
- - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2020
- - Friday, Jun. 05, 2020
- - Tuesday, Jun. 02, 2020