1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Mar. 17, 2020 - 11:25

Working from home. My new officemate slept in until I made him get out of bed at 9:30 so we could go for a walk. I stayed in bed until 7:45 (although I woke up much earlier). Not getting a whole lot done yet but it'll get better with time.

Spent Saturday afternoon cleaning up the tree, just me and the puppy's roommate. We took a load to compost and were both really tired and planning to quit, but we got back to the house and I saw the remaining branches and I was already dirty, so I said I'd just get those branches on the trailer so we wouldn't have to do it on Sunday, and the next thing you knew all the smaller branches were cleaned up. The puppy's roommate got his chainsaw back out and cut off a couple big limbs on the bottom of the trunk and got the trunk to roll off the fence perfectly. He cut that up into a few pieces, we got one loaded on the trailer, and the others we want to keep to make into beautiful thingies. So voila, we were all done on Saturday, even though we hadn't meant to finish. I'm a little sore and cut up somehow.

It was bitterly cold all weekend, and the wind didn't stop until Sunday afternoon. It looks like some of the tulips got too far frozen and won't recover. But now it's sunny and will be in the upper 40s and 50s for the next 10 days at least.

We got the email Sunday evening saying we'd be working from home for at least two weeks starting on Tuesday. I went in Monday morning feeling like I'd get sent home early, and yes, as soon as I went in they said they wanted us out by noon. It's all been surreal.

I have to say - and I'm sorry about this - but the thing I'm most perplexed about is the spelling of "cancelled". I don't care either way - I suppose it's my patriotic duty as an American to take the side of "canceled" although that seems wrong - but really, as an editor, I just want us to figure it out and stick with one spelling.

There's no way to link to this, because apparently it isn't online, but the Duluth Trading Company Spring 2020 women's catalog is incredible.

Tomorrow morning I'm meeting a coworker at 7:45 to go ride around on our bikes for 10 minutes and pretend we're commuting to work.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Mar. 30, 2020
- - Monday, Mar. 23, 2020
- - Friday, Mar. 20, 2020
- - Thursday, Mar. 19, 2020
- - Wednesday, Mar. 18, 2020