1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Mar. 13, 2020 - 19:36

I went to Costco on Monday to get dog food and they were out of dog food! I told myself it was just a momentary daily stocking issue instead of an actual shortage and went back on Wednesday night. There was half a pallet of my dog's food, and just a few bags of the other kind.

My boss (or, the guy who started the company) bought us all (or, the people who needed them) 24" monitors so we can work from home at 100% productivity so here I am typing on my brand new giant LG screen. And, like, these are ours, to keep.

Today was weird because hardly anyone was around - maybe because it's the Friday before spring break, maybe because people are already starting to work from home because there's a global pandemic. I work on a floor that allows dogs and usually there are 4 or 5 running around but today there was only 1, briefly.

The weirder thing today, and the more tangible thing, is this giant horrible winter storm blowing in. The wind is so strong it's blowing everything over. It's 28 degrees now. Tomorrow the high is 28. Two days ago, Wednesday, my dog was running around outside without a coat on, and then later that night I was driving out toward the airport into a blizzard. It's all weird.

I went to the grocery store last night and met two friends on my way in who were on their way out. I asked them if they were stocking up and I was joking. They said they'd already stocked up so they didn't need to. They weren't joking. I didn't mean to stock up myself but ended up buying a bunch of canned goods - enough for two or three batches of chili, which I need to make to use up all the ground beef I have in my freezer. As I was checking out, another friend got in line behind me. I asked her if she'd stocked up and she said she hadn't meant to but got to the toilet paper section and it was empty so she started panicking and decided to stock up on paper towels. She was joking but there she was with her giant pack of paper towels.

I'm disappointed that there won't be basketball games this month and now I'm wondering if they're going to start canceling the races I'm signed up for. If my races get canceled then this will be affecting me and my life! And if my parents get coronavirus they will die, they're exactly the people who will die.

I was thinking, throughout all of human history, for thousands and thousands and thousands of years, every single generation up until our parents' generation was self-sufficient and able to keep themselves alive through the winters without the convenience of a grocery store.

Anyway, I just meant to say, it's weird, it's winter again, and I'll be hunkered down for the weekend, at least, if not longer.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Friday, Mar. 20, 2020
- - Thursday, Mar. 19, 2020
- - Wednesday, Mar. 18, 2020
- - Tuesday, Mar. 17, 2020
- - Saturday, Mar. 14, 2020