1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

also I spent a lot of money on records today
Saturday, Apr. 16, 2011 - 17:27

Maybe it will be boring for you to read about how my running's going. I promise I'll return to whining about work in a couple days.

I went for a run on Monday. My broken ankle was 8 weeks -2 days old. I wore my ASO brace with Tubigrip underneath. I ran-walked for 30-second intervals. I made it around the block. Running total
1:30, grand total 3:00.

It was weird, it felt weird. My right foot had no spring at all. I tried to run light and on my toes to keep the impact from my ankle, but I had no strength in my foot, it just plopped.

I was going to run again on Wednesday but work was too dumb and it was rainy so I sat at home and drank wine.

This morning was a 5K with a pancake breakfast. I wondered how I could possibly run-walk for 3 miles when I could barely do one block on Monday, but what do you know? WHAT DO YOU KNOW. I started running and it felt FINE. I ran for 30 seconds and my watch beeped to tell me to walk. I had my intervals set to 30 seconds of running and 2 minutes of walking, but that wouldn't work, so I switched it to 1 minute of walking, but that wouldn't work either, so I switched it to 30 seconds of walking, and that was PERFECT. I did the whole race that way except at the end when I ignored the last two walking intervals and kept on running. I beat tons of little kids and some groups of slow ladies. My time was six minutes slower than last year and since my broken bone this year was on a weight-bearing component and last year it was just my stupid ribs I'd say that's pretty dang good. PRETTY DANG GOOD.

So I'm pretty optimistic. If there were a 5K next weekend I'd do it but there's not. In two weeks there's the 3-races-in-one thing, a 10K, a 5K, and a 1-mile. Maybe I'll be able to do the 10K, but if not I'll do the 5K. Can't do all three - I suppose that would be pushing it too far, wouldn't it.

Need to meet with my coach to plan out a training schedule. Bummed about missing out on the training group so far... maybe I'll jump in next month, or maybe I won't. Regardless, I'll ease into this run-walk stuff for another month and then start running again in May, after much of the stupidness at work is done.

Ice, epsom salts, comfrey oil rub, elevation, ice cream, nap. Dinner!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019