1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

free-flowing
Sunday, Mar. 08, 2009 - 14:56

Ha ha, I guess to keep me from getting too big a head:
- my car is dead again. D-E-D dead. Off to the shop it goes, the son of a bitch (after I get a jump).
- the toilet is all clogged up, and by 'clogged' I mean 'clogged'. I have no plunger. This happened last night to my new roommate. The clog did not go away over night as clogs are oftentimes wont to do. This morning after much searching I found a stick (turns out I've moved to a nearly stickless neighborhood) to poke around with, but the poking did nothing. The clog cannot be prodded away. My car is dead (see above) - roommate has gone to the store for groceries and a plunger.

I am at a cafe because I needed to use the bathroom. I got a scone - a delicious scone - and a latte - a not so delicious latte. The other time I came to this particular cafe I had a delicious scone and a delicious latte and, what's more, the latte was free.

YESTERDAY I posted my best 5K time. Turns out the course was short by about two-tenths of a mile but if you pretend I didn't tell you that you can continue to be impressed by my speed. I took two puffs from my inhaler before the race but still couldn't breathe during the last 1/2 K. So - back to the doctor, I suppose. Despite that, I ran a pretty good race, started out fast but not too fast, sped up for the second half, and passed people then who'd passed me in the first half. It was pretty rad. And after the race we got pancakes, which were delicious. (Normally I'm not a fan of the pancake - too fluffy, too heavy in the stomach, not worth it at all - but these were probably the best I've ever had.)

I love the running community here because I'm part of it. At the race I saw a guy who I ran with last summer until he suddenly dropped out of sight - turns out his mother had a stroke and he's been caring for his parents, hasn't had time to train like the rest of us crazies. He's a nice guy and is just a tiny bit slower than me, but last summer when my hip was killing me, during that last 14 mile run we ran together for the last few miles and it was great - I'd love to find someone who could run with me during those group runs.

THIS MORNING this year's training group officially began. There are tons of people and it's pretty great to see - people who have never run before mixed in with those of us who did the group last year or the year before. Seriously - grandmas, pudgy people who run like turtles - the people who were pudgy turtles last year are now marathon veterans. It's fun to be a part of this. Fun fun fun.

And so it's daylight savings time again. This morning, after the sun came up, it was lovely - a perfect morning for a run - but then snowstorms blew in with hail and darkness. Now it's just kind of gray out. I wonder how long I can sit here - this is not really the kind of place you just camp out at, this is not an informal coffee shop, it's a high-class swanky caffe with two Fs and murals on the ceiling. What should I do? Facebook? I always do that. Maybe read my cheesy pulp murder mystery, maybe write something. Ehh. I brought along my taxes to finish up but bleghhh.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019