1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Men + power = bad news
Wensday, January 22, 2003 - 14:43

For the past few months I've been thinking about the irony of the fact that the U.S. is supposed to be a democracy "of the people, for the people, and by the people" and yet many of us feel that the actions of the government are out of our control, and we have to sit idly by and watch while our president starts wars and supports dictators in some countries while calling other dictators evil and revokes a lot of environmental protection laws etc. etc.

Also, for the past few years I've been wondering why our country is run by men. I think that if Elizabeth Dole were president right now she wouldn't be trying to start a war with Iraq or North Korea. Seems to me, women are more diplomatic than men.

While I think that the United States is justified in trying to find and prosecute terrorists like Osama bin Laden who have attacked us and have murdered people, I don't think that the United States is justified in going to war with whatever country George W. (or his puppetmasters, as the case may be) wants.

I've seen no evidence supporting a war with Iraq right now, and I think that the U.S. government is doing it to get the public's attention away from domestic and environmental issues and away from the "war" on terrorism, which wasn't getting them the ratings or headlines they wanted.

And I'm sick of people complaining and not doing anything. And I'm sick of George W. saying that the majority of the country supports war. So I'm writing him a letter to let him know that I'm not part of his "majority". You can write to him too:

President George W. Bush
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20500

I've also started a diaryring called, unfortunately, "women4peace". It was either that or "womenforpeac". Maybe the second is the better name. Or how bout "grrls4peece"? Maybe I'll change it. But I probably won't. And maybe I'll make a pretty banner for it with a white ribbon.

Blah.

"If it were up to women, women wouldn't be sending their children to fight other women's children. I think the women need to take the war toys away from the boys and give them a good long timeout." -- Mannie Garza, The Old Women's Project

"To announce that there must be no criticism of the president, or that we are to stand by the president right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public." -- Theodore Roosevelt

"Somehow this madness must cease. We must stop now. I speak as a child of God and brother to the suffering poor of Vietnam. I speak for those whose land is being laid waste, whose homes are being destroyed, whose culture is being subverted. I speak for the poor in America who are paying the double price of smashed hopes at home and death and corruption in Vietnam. I speak as a citizen of the world, for the world as it stands aghast at the path we have taken. I speak as an American to the leaders of my own nation. The great initiative in this war is ours. The initiative to stop it must be ours." -- Martin Luther King, Jr.

Random Pearl Jam lyric: The man they call my enemy, I've seen his eyes, he looks just like me, a mirror. The more you read, we've been deceived, every day it becomes clearer... clearer. Not my enemy, no, not my enemy, don't speak for me, not my enemy.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019