1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Down with men, and hooray for the Sims
Monday, July 15, 2002 - 22:08

From Salon:

Nigerian women agree to end Chevron standoff

July 15, 2002 | ESCRAVOS, Nigeria (AP) -- The unarmed women holding 700 ChevronTexaco workers in a southeast Nigeria oil terminal agreed Monday to end their siege after the company offered to hire at least 25 villagers and to build schools and electrical and water systems.

The women, some with babies tied to their backs, broke out into singing and dancing on the docks at the Escravos facility on learning of the agreement . But they said they would wait until the verbal agreement was put in writing and signed before leaving the Escravos facility.

[...] But this protest is a departure for Nigeria's oil-rich Niger Delta, where armed men routinely resort to kidnapping and sabotage to pressure oil multinationals into giving them jobs, protection money or compensation for alleged environmental damage. Hostages generally are released unharmed.

This is hardly an original idea of mine, but wouldn't the world be a much saner place if females did more stuff like this? Why is it that men are the ones doing all the political things? If Palestinian and Israeli women started talking, they could probably work out a perfectly reasonable peaceful solution to all the problems of their people.

And, in completely unrelated but equally important news, the Sims are going to get pets! Hooray! Oh happy day! The expansion pack is called The Sims Unleashed. Ha ha! Unleashed!

And, it's hard having two jobs. It sucks. Even though the total number of hours for both my jobs is 20 per week.

And, it's hard writing a thesis. I hate it.

And, I'm getting worried that I might not finish my thesis by the time the band I'm going to follow around on my world tour starts their world tour. If my world tour starts months after their world tour, that would be really dumb, because the point of my world tour is to go around *with* them, not follow their trail long after the scent has worn away.

World Tour savings account balance: It was somewhere around $1700, but then I took out $120 to pay for a new down comforter that I just had to have, and to go to lunch. I might have to take out some more money this week too, because I'm going to a Foreign Country next week and will need to buy food there to survive for two weeks. I'm not planning to buy a lot of crap, because I don't want to have to carry a lot of crap around. Also, I hate crap. I have too much crap already (actually Mr. Pooh does, but what's his is mine and stuff like that).

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019