1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

___________
Wensday, May 29, 2002 - 13:49

Yesterday I told my advisor that I was going to quit school.

Me: I don't think I'm Ph.D. material.

Her: (Gasp.) Oh no! You're so smart!

Me: Well, uh...

Her: You're so smart! You're so smart! You're so smart!

She told me I was so smart like 45 times. I began to doubt her sincerity.

I told her that I didn't like school and that I was going on a big vacation next year and so I couldn't possibly take classes during winter and spring quarters. She said taking a break was probably a good idea, but rather than quitting school outright I should take a leave of absence.

blah blah, etc. etc. I talked to her for a long time. I didn't cry, at least.

So I'm signing up for two classes for next fall. Plus my thesis, which I will work on this summer and next fall and then file in December. Hopefully.

So I was very happy to have finally told her that I hate it here.

I'm starving and can't finish what I was going to write about. It was going to be really good, too. I was going to talk all about myself, and how close I was to getting a divorce, and the doomsday clock, and terrible stuff like that. But now I want a burrito, so I'm going home.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019