1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jan. 14, 2024 - 10:58

Have nearly survived the cold snap - halfway through. It didn't quite get as cold as it could have, just down to -22 yesterday. This morning is a balmy -14 and tomorrow morning will be the same. My dog has to wear his booties outside when it's this cold. I've taken him out a few times without them, because he doesn't like them and it takes a while to get them on him, but he only makes it about a block before he starts limping from the cold.

I haven't made bread yet, I haven't made soup, but I did make a homemade pot pie (it was okay) and a breakfast casserole this morning (I give it a B-). And fancy coffee (A+). I watched basketball games yesterday, watched a basketball documentary (Women of Troy about Cheryl Miller and the USC women's basketball team*), read a few chapters in my book, washed dishes, and not to brag but I also took a shower. I did not watch all of the Harry Potter movies (have only gotten through the first two) or the skateboarding documentary that my friend is in (will get to that at some point today or tomorrow).

It's nice when it gets this cold, really, as long as you're prepared for it. The snow is squeaky and so dry. Everything is dry. If the sun comes out it's fabulously beautiful, and if it's clear and the stars are out at night they twinkle in a different way.

*I'm keenly interested in the history of women's basketball and Title IX and I'd like to say I'm fairly well educated, but I learned a lot in this documentary. I didn't know about Immaculata College, I didn't know about those early NCAA tournaments, I didn't know much about the move from half-court to more "modern" basketball. I didn't realize Kim Mulkey was there playing against Cheryl Miller. I saw Ann Meyers Drysdale commentating at WNBA games this last season but didn't know who she was. I didn't realize that until recently ACL tears were career-ending rather than just season-ending injuries. Every one of those players moved women's basketball forward inch by inch, and it's a huge bummer to think about the talent so many of them had that was lost because there wasn't a venue for them to continue playing. And it's infuriating that knob-headed fucks still insist on making jokes about women's basketball.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Feb. 03, 2024
- - Saturday, Jan. 27, 2024
- - Friday, Jan. 26, 2024
- - Wednesday, Jan. 24, 2024
- - Saturday, Jan. 20, 2024