1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Sept. 02, 2021 - 17:21

For fun, I went by the house today at lunch. Someone had mowed the lawn. The trim is being painted. I walked up the alley and cried.

For fun, I went by the house on my ride home from work. The lawn is dry. The flower beds are not at their best. I got a lump in my throat.

There are these moments that are hard to explain, like the way it felt on a warm summer evening after you finished mowing the lawn - the smell of the cut grass, the dark green of it, the way the air felt - sitting on the back stoop. Looking up at the blue sky and the wispy white clouds through the branches of the enormous cottonwood up in the alley. Walking in that gate and being able to shut out the rest of the world.

I used to feel so lost when the puppy and his roommate went out of town.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Thursday, Sept. 23, 2021
- - Friday, Sept. 10, 2021
- - Thursday, Sept. 09, 2021
- - Monday, Sept. 06, 2021
- - Friday, Sept. 03, 2021