1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Aug. 18, 2019 - 09:54

We had two weeks of hot hot heat - so hot, so unbearable, so glorious. Miserable outside and inside until 9:30 at night and then it was fabulous. My fatigue is still with me, so every day and every night my plan was to wrap things up early, get into my pajamas, lights down low, in bed with a book at 10:15. And every night instead what would happen is we'd be outside saying we should go to bed but staying up to talk about caterpillars or moths or thunder and lightning, the garden, bikes, bodies, plants. Night falls, air cools, it's finally comfortable outside. Sitting on the steps talking about whatever comes up, looking at the sky, feeling the air move. It is quiet and comfortable and peaceful. We go in to look at his houseplants. I get out my binoculars and is that Saturn? Are those the rings of Saturn through my BINOCULARS? I get out my telescope and yes it is Saturn and there goes another hour and I get into bed just before midnight.

Storms come, we stand outside in the wind and the spitting rain saying we should go inside but did you just see that lightning? Thunder from all directions, cloud lightning, strikes flash, dogs worried, the storm passes.

It'll get hot again, back in the 90s this week, and thank god for that because I'm not quite ready for it all to be over yet.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019