1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Jul. 29, 2019 - 16:50

In a couple months, Diaryland will turn TWENTY YEARS OLD. It's funny, it still seems like a new thing to me in a way. This is the last holdout from when the internet was still interesting and real. Now all it is is ads or bots or propaganda or big data collecting.

To celebrate the big anniversary, I will be updating the html in my template from table-based to non-table-based, once I get some gumption. I did manage to fix the security issue (by removing the gold tracking script which didn't work anymore anyway) and now this place is 100% secure guaranteed!

Did I tell you I've been brushing up on my coding skills? Did I tell you that in so doing I've found out that html has changed a little bit since 1996? It has! You can do many more things now!


----------

I have been listening to Emma by Jane Austen and I think I'm going to read the actual book because I always fall asleep and don't know what's happening. I've never read the book and I've never seen the movie (besides Clueless). Remember when Gwyneth Paltrow was starring in all these movies and we were just supposed to sit there and take it?

The only Jane Austen books I ever actually read were Pride and Prejudice, and Persuasion (which I recently reread and I believe I complained about it here, right - oh poor put-upon Anne, always being so helpful and put-upon! And oh no now dumb Captain Wentworth is going to marry some teenagers! Poor Anne!) and you can't just reread Pride and Prejudice for the rest of your life, can you? So I'll read Emma.

----------

A few days ago I was trying to get my dog to get into the car but he hesitated so I reached in to move a blanket but at that exact moment he finally jumped in and he hit his head on my elbow in just the right spot. It hurt a little, not much, but now I've got this giant bruise that has spread over my whole elbow.

In addition, I have scratches all over my arms from picking the raspberries so it looks like I had a pretty good vacation.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019