1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Jun. 22, 2019 - 20:25

Sun streaming in the window, I'm sitting here with two dogs, an ice pack on my quad, listening to shit-pop on the radio. The puppy's roommate is at a concert, there are fireworks after the baseball game tonight, I need to get some sleep.

I pulled my quad two days ago at a kickball game after work. It was so dumb and such a middle-aged thing. I was the lead-off kicker and hadn't done anything all day, didn't even ride my bike to work, and did not warm up, which has never mattered before. It must have been the sudden sprinting between bases. I realized I'd pulled it when I got back into the dugout. Then obviously I made it worse in my subsequent turns because I didn't ask anyone to run for me and I didn't take it easy because I am ridiculous.

I had a trail race today and didn't know until a minute or two into the race whether I'd be able to run or not. I'd been icing and ibuprofing the shit out of my quad since Thursday. It hurt a little and I had to hold back - had to do all the technical step-ups and step-downs with my left leg - but I don't think I injured it any further. Next weekend is a weekend full of running and as long as I'm smart about this and keep up the ice/heat/ice and ibuprofen, I should be okay.

Anyway, the race today was probably the funnest race I've ever done in my life, and also other things have been going well. <3

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019