1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Jun. 08, 2019 - 20:47

Felt terrible this morning: bad period day, gut issues, and I haven't slept well since I got the awful news last weekend about having to buy a house.

Did a race over where the puppy's roommate is working - loaded the dogs in the car and met him over there this morning. The dogs were surprised and excited. I was going to take the bus to the starting line, but he drove me instead - I could have made the bus but wanted a little extra time in the bathroom. It all worked out fine.

Was pretty sure it wasn't going to be a fast race for me - he said, "But haven't you said that before and then had a fast race?" but I said that it was true this time. But whaddaya know, the race started, I warmed up about a mile in, and I ended up getting a 50-second PR for that race. I felt much better after the race. He was at the finish line, we hung out a while, then he had to go to work.

Dogs and I came home, drove back into a rain-filled valley, I watched Pride and Prejudice on Hulu, a hailstorm came by and pummeled us for a bit, rainshowers and sunshowers, I took a nap, the dogs took a nap, we went for a walk, and now we're all ready for another nap.

I'm trying to tell myself that buying a house won't be the worst thing in the world and everyone I talk to about how I'm feeling says it's normal - ahh yes, buyer's remorse, you'll go through that, they all say - and I'm feeling a little better about it but I still don't want to move. Someone else will move into my apartment. I can hardly stand the thought of that.

I got a blister underneath a toenail during the race. After I took a shower I was cleaning out under my toenails, as one does - my dumb toenail that turns blue every summer was a pink champagne color, and oh weird, that toe is still wet - from the shower? Wipe off the liquid, and there's more liquid, and oh it's not exactly colorless is it, oh, oh, oh gross, it's seeping out from under the nail. It doesn't hurt, just a little tender, mostly I'm grossed out by it - but the neat thing about dead toenails is that they don't hurt at all when it's time for them to come off.

Oh also a coyote ran across the road right in front of me during the race. It was neat.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019