1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

The Mystery of the Missing Squeaky Pig, episode 2
Thursday, Jun. 06, 2019 - 21:06

It was my dog's birthday on Tuesday! He turned six years old. He got a duck toy and a squawky pig and a squeaky red ball. The puppy and his roommate came to his birthday party, and the puppy brought out his own fuzzy yellow ball that was exactly like his fuzzy pink ball that mysteriously disappeared without a sign three weeks ago.

The fuzzy yellow ball was a chicken; the fuzzy pink ball was a pig.

The puppy wanted my dog's new duck toy and squawky pig and squeaky red ball, and my dog wanted the puppy's fuzzy yellow ball, so they traded toys.

Tonight we got back from a walk. My dog was in the yard playing with the fuzzy yellow ball as he has the last two days, squeaking it and tossing it around.

I went into my garage to get a pair of clippers. Five seconds later, I stepped back out into the yard.

Somehow, my dog was in the garden, had hopped over the little garden fence and had his nose in the dirt.

He was in the carrots. He looked at me when I asked him what he was doing. His white snout was entirely brown, covered in dirt. I started walking towards him, and he turned tail to try to get away from me.

And then I noticed something sticking out of the dirt.

Chicken feet.

It was the chicken ball, buried in a hastily dug shallow grave.

In the five seconds I was in the garage, my dog hopped into the garden, used his dog snout to dig a hole, placed the chicken ball in the hole, and started covering it up. And he'd have gotten away with it, too, if only I'd spent a little more time in the garage.

And recall, if you will, the one clue left behind in the disappearance of the pink pig: my dog's very dirty nose.

So case closed! My dog, the little shit, quickly buried the pig ball somewhere using his dog snout, and he thought he could get away with it again.

I guess he really loves those fuzzy animal balls, in a very weird way. I suppose I should find out where I can buy more of them.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019