1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Mar. 19, 2019 - 15:44

A few months ago some guy submitted a change of address with the post office saying that his new address is my PO box. It's not, though. So I kept getting mail for him with the yellow forwarding sticker attached. I'd write "Not at this address" on all of them and put them in the Unknown/Former Boxholder box. Now I'm getting mail addressed to him with no yellow forwarding sticker, things from AARP and his cell phone company. It's mildly annoying but not that big a deal, but still - mildly annoying. I looked him up, found that his father and brother and sister-in-law had all died within like two months of each other last fall, right before he told the post office that my address was his address. Poor guy.

Spring is coming. The snow is melting quickly, but there's so much left. Rivers flow down the streets and sidewalks during the day and freeze again at night. Snowpiles of mush, you can't walk around on them during the day anymore.

The river was frozen over for at least a month. Last Friday we saw areas of sunken ice with water flowing over them, but for the most part the river was still frozen over. Same on Sunday evening, small ice jam forming by the ball park, chunks of iceberg stacking up against each other. Overnight, Sunday night, while we slept, the river opened up, all the way through town. Still plenty of ice at the edges but it's fun to see it change so quickly.

The weekend was great - sunny and warm and I was busy and it's the way spring weekends are supposed to be. Except for all the snow still on the ground. I hung my laundry on the line and my sheets were barely above the snow. I sat in the sun and drank tea. The dogs spent both days outside all day long and were exhausted, not used to so much stimulus. I cleared out the flower beds next to the house, the only beds that aren't covered with snow. The lilies were just poking through; the next day, everything was a half-inch taller and the crocuses were starting to come up. Now there are even a couple tulips, just barely pushing through the ground.

The puppy and his roommate are on their way out of town and will be gone about two weeks. I obviously don't care but my dog will miss them a lot.

On a completely unrelated note, I feel lost, and delicate.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019