1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Mar. 03, 2019 - 21:58

The snow squeaks underfoot. It's granular, sugary, too cold to stick together. The wind has blown it into lovely frozen waves, sand dunes, peaks and valleys. The sun has been out the last two days. I looked at the thermometer a couple hours ago - it was 8 degrees. Half an hour later, it was 7, now it's 0. It'll be a cold one tonight but at least the wind isn't blowing so much anymore.

I'll never complain about fresh snow (unless it's in June) but it is odd, isn't it, to be getting such cold, deep wintery weather in March. It's March! Metereological spring started on Friday! Daylight Savings Time starts in a week! A few years ago I'd planted a tomato seed out in the garden in the ground in February. But a couple years before that we'd had another of these end-of-February-beginning-of-March blizzardy weather systems. Blizzards - actual blizzards - are rare here but here we are.

I'm using my yogurt maker to germinate pepper seeds. After just a few days I've already got some sprouts. I think last year was my first time doing this. It's perfect. The only problem is that I can't make yogurt for a couple weeks.

I'm all set to buy a house except there aren't any on the market at my price, ho hum. I mean there are, there are like six of them, but they get bought up too quickly.

My dog doesn't know yet how cold it is outside tonight but we have to go out there in a few minutes to do our nighttime pees and poos. Times like this it would be nice to be a cat.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019