1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019 - 09:22

I’ve never cared in any way about sourdough bread but this starter happened to come my way - a friend was starting some from scratch and gave me one of her discards - and I’m all about making things from scratch so I took it, fed it, discarded its halves, gave it flour and water and time, and then decided to bake this stupid loaf of stupid sourdough bread, because that’s what you ultimately do with dough. And I can’t tell you how good it is! The toast from this bread is the best toast that ever was! Now I’m all about sourdough and I’ll probably start doing all the things I imagine sourdough enthusiasts do: wear turtlenecks, talk about Moby Dick, those kinds of things.

Flour, water, and time! Can you believe it! And I’ve never read Moby Dick but from what I gather, the whale is a metaphor!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019