1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Jan. 28, 2019 - 20:02

There's something nice and secret about winter - the darkness covers you and hides you and sends everyone else inside. There's nothing nicer than the snow-covered hills glowing in the moonlight but I'm not talking about that - I'm talking about the terrible ugly bowels of winter, nothing pretty about it, but when it starts to go away I kind of miss it. I realized this a few years ago, walking home after work in January - you can cry in peace at the beginning of the month, but after a few weeks you can't. It's too light out still, and people can see you cry. (I'm not walking around crying these days, I'm fine, but I do like the protection of the darkness.)

We've had three straight days of sunshine which only accentuates the lengthening of the days and I'm so looking forward to the summer. But I will miss this winter when it's gone.

Tonight on our walk my dog chased a bike. Third time he's done this. I'd have had him on a leash but the bike snuck up behind us. Anyway, the little bastard did not come back when I called him, of course, just kept running down the trail racing this bike, weaving in and out, barking a couple times like an asshole. When he did come back he was pretty happy. I am one of those asshole dog owners who lets their dog do whatever it wants, aren't I.

It's weird having a new boss.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019