1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jan. 27, 2019 - 19:21

I'm making my first loaf of sourdough. It's just flour, water, and time! And salt! It's so easy! (I mean, I hope it is. We'll see how this loaf turns out.)

A few weeks ago I saw someone at the store buying cans of potatoes and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it. I had no idea potatoes were sold in cans. The next time I went to the store I had to go to the canned vegetable aisle to see them for myself. There they were - potatoes in cans. So - why would you ever buy canned potatoes? This is just the weirdest thing to me. I suppose I could also ask why I never knew about canned potatoes. I knew about canned peas, and canned beans, but not canned potatoes. Still - why wouldn't you just buy potatoes? Maybe she didn't know you could just buy potatoes, just like I didn't know you could buy potatoes in cans.

I was going to finish my mortgage application this weekend and also apply for that paid training deal but instead I didn't. What I did do: ran a race (I got third, could have been faster if I'd had my spikes but I didn't expect it to be so icy), took the dogs for a hike, watched a basketball game (we won), took off the taillight housing thingy on my car to see why there was so much condensation in it and to see how much rust there was underneath it (there was no rust, and I need to seal the plastic thing after it all dries out), watched a movie that made me cryyyyyyy, went for a run with my dog to the dog park, decided to make sourdough bread (I've had the starter going for... two weeks or more now) (the dough rose so much more than I was expecting so I think this might actually be working), and set off the smoke alarm.

It got to 47 degrees today. 47 degrees ABOVE zero.

I get my eyes zapped on Thursday. Last Wednesday was my last day in contacts. Hopefully the race on Saturday was the last time I ever have to run in glasses.

I did laundry today too and my clothes smell like someone else. It's very weird.

Sourdough results: They didn't say you needed to grease the pan! (Or do you just flour the dough ball better?) Other than that, oh my, there's never been a better loaf of bread. This is so good. Also I can't imagine it being this good tomorrow so I should probably eat as much as I possibly can while it's still hot.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019