1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I sometimes realize I can only be as good as you let me
Wednesday, Mar. 14, 2018 - 22:28

A couple months ago someone spraypainted some very religious inspirational graffiti on the footbridge near my house:

THE CROSS IS NOT YOUR FALT
JHON 3:16
LOOK OUT BELOW
LOOK UP ABOVE
WALK WHITH GOD
LOOK TO HEAVENS EYES
ARMAGEDOON
LOVE YOUR NABOR
FALLOW YOUR <3
THANK YOU LORD FOR THIS GORGOUS DAY

The misspellings were so hilarious it was hard to take them seriously, but the messages seemed so sincere. Recently, someone crossed out NABOR and painted "neighbor" over it. I've been meaning to write about this for weeks but could never remember all of the messages.

When I rode my bike home for lunch the other day I took a couple pictures and made some mental notes, and when I rode back half an hour later someone from the city was painting over them! I was kind of sad that these hilarious messages were gone, but when I rode back after work I was happy to find that two of the messages - LOOK UP ABOVE and THANK YOU LORD FOR THIS GORGOUS DAY - were not painted over. Probably because the city employee was so moved by them and pretended to run out of paint so as to preserve them.

...Hey, you ever get all self-righteous thinking you're the shit about some topic only to discover 15 years after you started thinking about it that you actually are still quite guilty of doing all the stupid shit you think you don't do? Oh yeah? Hey, me too! Ugh.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019