1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Oct. 15, 2017 - 21:58

Finally got my door all sanded down, or I mean as sanded as I decided to get it. The flat parts were fine but it's the details that sucked. I got too hungry and decided to stop despite the edge of the window looking like a Martian blizzard (I'm tired, what I mean here is that it looks terrible). Sanded with 50, then 100, then 120, or it might have been 60, 100, 150. Whatever. I was using hand sanders and the puppy's roommate's orbital sander and his rotary tool to try to get the details, to varying degrees of success. Overall it looked really good unless you looked closely.

So then I put on the stain. Oh my. I'd picked out stain that I thought would match the stairs, and maybe it does, or maybe it will, but really it's only gonna match the upper stairs that aren't as weather-worn as the bottom stairs. This stain is very dark and very red. My stairs aren't very dark or very red. I only did one coat of stain. It's drying. I didn't put the lock back on so am vulnerable to robbers and attackers tonight and tomorrow. Hopefully early tomorrow night after work I can get a coat of varnish on the motherfucker and let it dry enough to hang and get some of the hardware back on.

It's really a beautiful door with interesting nicks and things - I told you about the dog attack it suffered in days of yore, and the attempted fixing of that. Numerous coats of paint. I think the trim around the window is oak. The original knob is a mortise lock with a skeleton key.

Oh man I'm tired, I need to go to bed. I'm gonna be sore tomorrow - the circuit training after boxing today was hard.

Boxing: I am getting better, stronger, faster, better form, but my left cross is terrible. Basically my left arm has no strength and its form is terrible because I'm not used to using it. You don't punch with just your arm, you use your core and glutes when throwing a punch, but when my left arm is trying to punch, the rest of my body just sits there watching it, like whaaaaaaaat does that arm think it's doing, that is not the arm we get behind, this is gonna be good, I'm gonna sit here and watch this idiot arm try to punch that bag without the help of the rest of its body, ha ha what an idiot.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019