1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Oct. 02, 2017 - 20:56

Oh thank god this white box is unmolested. For now! I know a change is gonna come. Hopefully I'll be able to deal with it when it happens. Now is as good a time as any to tell you that I've been writing here for the last 18 years and two days.

This morning I dreamed that I was in a house in Seattle built in 1932 or thereabouts. It had been in the same family the whole time, was now for sale, and I was probably going to buy it. The living room still had the original wallpaper - a faded darkish green, and someone had painted a comic in one spot in the 1930s. It wasn't bad wallpaper at all and I was going to keep it up. The whole place was exactly like 1932, woodwork, mirror above the fireplace maybe, furniture, all the furniture was still there, and even the old guy that lived there was still there. It was like a time warp - but then I looked up at the ceiling, and there was an entertainment center, big-screen TV, digital doodads, all mounted up on the ceiling. The kitchen had a little breakfast nook off to one side. The whole place needed serious tidying-up, and I thought how lovely and comfortable and useable and lighter it would be if there weren't piles of crap all over the place, and suddenly it was my place and my stuff all over, and it was my fault it looked so awful. Just clean it up and it'll be lovely.

Yesterday I managed to: put away my stand-up air conditioner and all affiliated accoutrements, bring all my houseplants in from my outside steps, plant tulip bulbs, get the garden almost ready for the freeze, sweep, wash half a million dishes, eat, watch a TERRIBLE movie, throw some things away, put away my laundry! Also I went to boxing and then read the newspaper, did the tanning bed for 5 minutes, sat in the steam room for 15 minutes, and took a shower.

How is my new job? Oh, thank you for asking. It's weird. I don't know, it'll take a while to get used to. It's a whole different side of the organization.

The best thing about the video for Malibu by Mylie Cyrus is her dog.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019